top of page

#5

Why am I not looking at the camera? Well, at this point, a Korean palace man is telling me that I am not supposed to be taking a picture that close to the gaurd. Oops.

Two weeks and two days. I can hardly believe how quickly that time as gone. I have been learning so much from how to engage three wonderful fourth graders to how not to select bananas in the grocery store.

Yes, the grocery store is a good one to share. I think this experience was a bit unique, and I doubt this is the norm here in Korea. Any who, I was grocery shopping in the store, which is located at the bottom of my apartment building. Talk about convenient. I was on a mission to purchase a drying rack and bananas (an unusual but necessary combination). I was trying to find the greenest bananas. It was after about 12 seconds of standing there that an old lady began to speak not-so-softly at me and pointed to the next aisle. I thought to myself, “Oh, she probably is trying to tell me there are cheaper bananas on the other side. How kind.” As I walked to the next aisle, there was no sign of bananas. I just laughed and went back to the banana table and pick the original bunch that I wanted. Next time, no monkey business for me. For the cherry on top, I walked past three teenage boys in full-on-green-and-white-masculine-flower pajamas. Again, I giggled to myself. I love the freedom they feel to sport the latest fashion in Korean sleepwear.

Los estudiantes

The three amigos dressed in traditional Korean clothes for Chuseok. Chuseok is the Korean Thanksgiving.

Classroom

The view from my classroom!

I am beyond blessed and thrilled to have three students. They are a lot of fun, and the small class size allows me to adapt to their specific needs. I applaud teachers who manage classrooms much bigger than mine. Seriously, you are all champs! Along with the students, I have the neatest coworkers. They have been so welcoming and helpful as I adjust to teaching here. They are such a blessing. Thank the Lord for them.

Kimbap

Kimbap!

Let’s just talk about food for a second. I’m serious when I say that it is real good. There is this thing called kimbap. It’s pretty similar to sushi. It has a seaweed outside, rice, and a lot of vegetables. I like it very much. Also, dak galbi is my favorite so far. It’s a stir-fry that’s made in a big frying pan at your table, they have onions, chicken, and other vegetables that I cannot quite identity. But that doesn’t matter because it’s so good. Pan jun is pretty a pancake filled with anything from carrots, zucchini, mushrooms, and kimchi. It’s real good.

There has been a lot I have learned about cultural norms and food. For example, the youngest person is responsible for filling everyone’s glass with water. You pour the pitcher with two hands. I was out to dinner with some people from church, and I was pouring water with two hands for my friend’s Korean coworker. She looked at me and said, “Oh, that is so polite!” She then went onto explain more. I loved it!

Down by the river

A river about ten minutes from my apartment.

Please know that I am well. God has graciously given me sweet people here in Korea and back home who love me well and help me transition into this new season. Pray that I would be quick to listen and love those around me.

Lots of love,

Rebecca

Oldest bridge

I am pretty sure this is the oldest bridge in Korea. However, I could be totally wrong. If so, just enjoy how cool it looks.

River crossing

Exploring by the river.

Old man games

Old men playing games in the park.

The fort

A quick look into my apartment. (More to come!)

Han River

Exploring by the Han River.

Open market

Checking out the open markets.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page