top of page

#9

Sometimes it is hard to write these little updates. There is so much that I’d like to share with you over a cup of coffee (with a little vanilla). Let me assure you. If you were in Korea, we wouldn’t have any trouble finding cafes. It isn’t rare to see several different coffee shops right next to one another. Now, I’m not saying like a few blocks away. No, they are within feet of each other. I guess people like to have options, too many options. Anywho, here I am. In a coffee shop. Ready to share a snippet of my life. Let me start with the biggest news. I am staying for two more years. Well, wasn’t that subtle. That sentence freaks me out. First, I have extreme joy and excitement about being here as a teacher and a part of my super nifty church. A dear friend of mine recommended me to her principal. (She is a gem, thank God for her.) I will have the privilege of teaching fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth grade math using a solid math curriculum. Yes, I am thoroughly stoked about helping my students explore math. With all of that said, this decision is a tough one. It means that I won’t be home for birthdays, holidays, cabin hangouts, and quality time family and friends. This makes me sad. I like the people in my life. So, why am I staying? Well, one year in this country doesn’t seem like enough to learn about the culture and invest in the people here. Just before I came to Korea, someone told me that year one you are surviving, year two you are living, and year three you…shoot I can never remember this one. Anyway, I am excited about this new school, and what God has in store. (Worry not, I will be able to come back to the best Midwest. This new school has some pretty great vacation breaks.) Now, let me tell you a little story. My student is a fun one. (I recently had one more student added to my class.) Two whole students. Anywho, back to life with just one student. We were on the bus, and he was chatting it up. We were sounding out Korean signs as they passed by us. I should say I was trying to make sense of the letters, and he giggled at my attempts. Children are the most honest teachers. We were dropping off one student, and her grandmother came to the bus stop. I got off first to help the student out of the bus. I bowed and said goodbye to the grandmother in Korean (impressive I know). I got back on the bus, and my student had a huge smile on his face. I asked what he was smiling about. “You just spoke in Korean…that is pretty cool.” Now, I wouldn’t say I was necessarily speaking anything complicated by any means. But it showed me the power of languages. You know. It is a neat way to love people by learning their language. As an American, it is too easy for me to feel entitled. I think people should speak English to me and I to them with ease. I think Korea should have the foods I like most (harsh reality). I think people should operate on my time. I think coffee shops should open before 8:00 am. I think people should care more about what I have to say. Yikes, entitlement is ugly. With these realities spoken, I see how yucky I can be towards people. It causes me to look to Jesus and thank Him for His unconditional love. His grace covers my entitlement. I want the love of Jesus to control my thoughts. Not sure how to segue out of that last paragraph. So, I’m not going to. Let me bring on the photos. There are already too many words on this post. Kindly,

레바

Place your mouse over the photo for info about it. :)

More info about this school. (http://english.seoul.go.kr/center-student-protests-japan-bukchon-choong-ang-high-school/)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page