top of page

#11

When I first arrived in Korea, I was so stoked to share all about this new and exciting experience.

food

work

school

people

culture

friends

travel

A dear and wonderful friend that helped me transition to Korea told me in the beginning, "You'll write a lot now, but (like herself) you will probably become less and less frequent with posts or maybe even stop after your first year." At first, I was skeptical about her pessimistic comment, but she was so right.

but why was she right?

She wasn't being pessimistic. She was being realistic. After being in Korea for over two and a half years, I am seeing exactly why my dear friend was correct. Korea has become my home. It isn't always easy to write about what becomes normal and routine. Writing is a sweet tool to reflect on how Korea has become my normal.

What has happened since I last posted and how do I share it all? Short and sweet.

2015-2016

- moved schools to teach math for grades four to eight

- moved into a new apartment with two wonderful women

- got homesick

- started dating Dan the man who can

- said goodbye to friends that I love

- flew home for a weekend trip to celebrate my friend's wedding (wonderful whirlwind trip)

- traveled to Turkey

- made my way to Hong Kong for my first solo trip

- missed my family

- fought the lie that everyone should speak English (entitlement at its finest)

- said yes to Dan on a mountain

- planned a wedding

- said goodbye to more friends that I love

- spent an incredible summer at home with my family

- made a covenant before the Lord, family and friends to love Dan

- started living with a man

- continued my job teaching math for grades six to eight and started teaching Spanish (IN KOREA!)

- thanked the Lord I have a husband

- traveled to Taiwan

- geeked out as my younger sister got engaged

- smiled because I like being married

- traveled to China for my Chinese foreign exchange brother's wedding

- said goodbye to more and more friends that I love

- traveled home to celebrate GRACE & CARLOS GETTING MARRIED

- celebrated my older brother getting engaged

2017

- learned that marriage is about communication and I have a lot of growing to do

- explored Tokyo with Danny boy

- skated at the 1998 Olympic Rink in Korea

- recognized that I have been overwhelmed with blessings in Korea

- watched some world championship speed skaters

- felt bad about not writing a blog post for too long

- went up the Lotte Sky Tower (5th tallest building in the world)

- grew in grace and understanding that I need Jesus

This is just the beginning of starting to process here of what the Lord has done in my heart and life while navigating Korea.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page